Posted by: ad65shorty | September 14, 2009

All About Me Dolls

This is one of my all-time favorite activities, and I love that it caters to every age group. When I taught school, I would send this home on the first day for homework. Now, I do it at home as a memory for me!

I have a paper doll that looks like this:

I also have a girl version–same figure, just with a skirt. It really doesn’t matter though.

The kids cut out and decorate the doll to look like them using any sort of medium they want–construction paper, yarn, stickers, markers, and felt are good ideas.

completed by 4-year-old

They then fill out an info sheet. I include these questions:

Full name ________

Favorite color ________

Favorite food ______

I love to ________

I dislike to _______

The funniest thing I have ever done _________

I have ___ sisters and ___ brothers

Favorite book ______

When I am outside, I like to ___________

When I am inside, I like to _________

The thing I like best about school is _________

I am excited to be in preschool (or whatever grade) because _________

When I grow up, I want to be _______

I like myself because ______

I am a unique and special person because I (list 5 reasons or qualities):

1. _______

2. _______

3. _______

4. ________

5. ________

I like to display ours on the fridge for the whole year, and then put it in my child’s file when we complete our new one. It’s so fun to see how they grow and change. For example, when my son was three, I said, “When I grow up, I want to be…” And he shouted out, “HANDSOME!”

In school, I used the cutouts for educational purposes. I would choose one child each day. I would hold up the doll and read their papers. The kids had to guess who they thought it was. We talked a lot about not sharing if they knew it was them! Then, that kid became our king or queen of the day and got to wear a crown. We used their name for many of the activities, such as our shared writing and songs. I then hung their dolls on the wall for the whole year. It made each child feel so special, but also gave the children a chance to get to know that person, as well as recognize the names of their friends!


Responses

  1. Angee – I posted Aidan’s self portrait over on my blog and put some links to yours. Thanks for the great idea! It was fun to hear all of his answers!


Leave a comment

Categories