Posted by: ad65shorty | September 14, 2009

Getting Back and a New Start!

101_2988

Thanx for your patience last week as I was vacationing with my mom at the most beautiful place ever: Prince Edward Island, where the Anne of Green Gables books were written. I was hoping to be able to put together some posts while I was gone, but life has been insanely busy for me lately! I have a lot on my plate right now.

My son barely made the cut-off for entrance to Kindergarten this year. I have my own theories on this, but my husband and I felt strongly, through prayer, that we should wait one more year before sending him away. Personally, I am so glad that I get to have him home and am excited to live it up!! As a result though, we had the decision to make concerning preschool. We had always decided that he would only have one year of preschool, and we sent him last year not knowing what our plans were for this year. So, we left the choice up to him, and he said he wanted to stay home and do preschool with Mom. I am now teaching “official” preschool each day for an hour or so with my own children, which will be an adventure with an average two-year-old and a very bright five-year-old! A challenge for sure.

As a result of my son’s decision, this school year, my blog will continue to focus on a theme a week, but I will be sharing activities that I am currently doing with my own children instead of activities we have done in the past. I will try to share hints for incorporating activities for varied age-groups, and I will share my own thoughts and struggles. I don’t know if you’ll notice any difference, but it’ll definitely be different for me! As always, feel free to ask questions, share ideas, and the likes.

Here’s to a great school year!

Responses

  1. What a fun trip! I’m so jealous.

  2. Welcome back Angee! Hope your vacation was great – it looks beautiful just from that picture. My son makes the cut-off for kindergarten by one week so that is something we have been struggling with as well. Darn September birthdays! We have one more year to figure it out but will most likely keep him out one more year as well. Can’t wait to see all your new ideas – btw – totally going to do the “all about me” doll with Aidan today. Can’t wait to hear his answers!

  3. Amy,

    I hope you’ll post the pics of the doll on your blog. I’d love to see them!

    We did ours today. They turned out really cute! My son is REALLY into pirates so he decorated his doll to look like himself dressed as a pirate (exact replica of what he was wearing today). My 2-year-old told me the colors she wanted, then stuck stickers all over hers (including the back), colored the face, and wanted a bow in her hair. She loves it, and actually, it’s really cute!

    They had a great time telling me the answers to the questions, and my little one was even able to tell me that she wants to be a mommy when she grows up. Too cute!

    This was such a fun, interactive activity! My son actually asked me to make another one for him later in the day. He decorated it by himself while I made dinner, and then hung it in his room. You know it’s good if they want to do it again, right?! 🙂 A huge success for all involved!


Leave a Reply

Categories

