Posted by: ad65shorty | May 6, 2013

Mother’s Day Idea: Grandchildren Frame Ideas

I have waited for years to do this project, and this year was the perfect year! Last summer, during our family reunion, I got with my sisters-in-law and discussed the idea of a group present, where we had each grandchild hold a letter that spelled Grandma. For some reason, I had figured out that we had just enough grandchildren to accomplish this feat. Since we all live in different states (including Alaska!), we brainstormed a way to make this work. I’ve seen on-line kids holding wooden letters, which would have worked great. One of us could have bought them and then mailed them out. Instead, we decided it would be cute (and easier on us) if each child held a different type of letter–more eclectic, if you will. We also decided to print the pictures in black and white (or even sepia) to make it all uniform. And that way, we wouldn’t have to worry about matching outfit colors. We assigned each child a letter, lining them up from youngest to oldest.

As the pictures came in this past fall, and I was able to edit them, the excitement mounted! This was quite the project, and I spent many hours on it. I’m a perfectionist, and I wanted this to be just right. I had to figure out a way to get all 7 pictures to fit in my frame, fairly evenly. I re-sized and printed and cropped many times. But when it all came together, I couldn’t have been happier!

Here’s the final outcome (you can click on the picture to make it bigger):

DSC_0960

Our grandma LOVED it!! And honestly, it’s my favorite project to date.

(We actually did this as a Christmas gift. There is a matching Grandpa set, which I will show you for Father’s Day in June.)

We’ve also done this one, which is also cute, and works for the other side of the family, where we don’t have enough grandchildren yet to spell Grandma. Once again, I made it black and white so I didn’t have to worry about matching outfits! Print it and put it in a cute frame. We made this one smaller so it sits on her side table in her living room (there is also a matching Grandpa frame).

You could also use one like this to send an email message to a grandma who lives out-of-state.

DSC_1179

Responses

  1. So cute. Love that the “D” is backwards! It makes it even more precious.

    • Thanx, Natalie! I think that’s my favorite part, too! That it’s so just “not perfect.”


Leave a Reply

Categories

