Posted by: ad65shorty | March 30, 2012

LDS General Conference Ideas for Children: Speaker Snacks

For those that don’t know by now, I am a member of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints, or a Mormon. I believe in living prophets. Why would God have had prophets all through the ages, and not have them now? They speak to us, guiding us on how to raise our families through the craziness of this world. Their words makes sense! This weekend, I get the incredible opportunity to sit in my living room, turn on my TV, and listen to their counsel (we call it General Conference). It’s the most inspiring weekend!

Because I have a large audience who also believes how I do, and many of us are young moms, trying to instill this belief in our children, I like to share ideas to help keep our children engaged.

With that being said, Emily is here as my guest today, sharing a fun tradition she does in her family for General Conference. She originally shared this idea with me during the last General Conference 6 months ago, and I think it’s fabulous!! Emily makes a special snack for each apostle. When that person is speaking, her children get to enjoy the snack while listening to the speaker. She even shares with us one of her top secret recipes… Oooh…. 

Here’s Emily:

General Conference at our house is a bit chaotic.  My children (ages 1, 2, 4, 6 and 8) want to be good, but they needed a little incentive to keep their attention.  I saw an idea online to do a special “Speaker Snack” for each apostle so the kids would have a reason to care who was speaking.  I made the older kids write down three things from the talk before they got the snack.  I am a sucker for intrigue (and alliteration) so pairing speakers with snacks was quite invigorating.

Here is my list of snacks from last year.  I will change it up a little this year to keep the kids guessing and depending on what’s on sale.  I always get stuck on President Uchtdorf…. but whatever I do, President Monson’s is always the best (something chocolate) and I refill the mystery bag between sessions since he speaks more than once.

President Thomas S. Monson’s ???Mystery Snack???
President Henry B. EyRing-Pops
President Dieter F. Uchtdorf’s Dum-Dums
President Boyd K. Packer’s Peanuts
Elder L. Tom Perry’s Pretzels
Elder Russell M&M Nelson
Elder Dallin H. Oaksmeal Cookies
Elder M. Russell Ballard’s Bears
Elder Richard G. Scott’s Skittles
Elder Robert D. Hales Fish-Tails
Elder Jeffrey R. Holland’s Hersheys
Elder David A. Bednar’s Bubblegum
Elder Quentin L. Cook’s Cookies
Elder D. Todd Christofferson’s Capri-Suns
Elder Neil L. Andersen’s Applesauce
.

.

My four-year-old caught on right away.  He knew that for Elder Cook, he got cookies.  Elder Bednar was Bubble Gum…. and that one must be Elder Chocolate!  (It was Elder Holland’s Hersheys)

.

Poor Elder “Applesauce” Andersen wasn’t too popular.  But my eight-year-old screamed when Elder Christofferson “Capri Sun” was announced.

For some added intensity, my husband couldn’t wait to tell who spoke at the priesthood session and teased the kids mercilessly that he would eat that speaker’s snack all by himself.

My one worry was that Elder Oaks would speak during the first session before I had a chance to make “Oaksmeal” Cookies.  He didn’t, so I baked them on Saturday afternoon.  This is a recipe from my BYU student ward days.  It was the kind of recipe you kept a secret because any boy you made them for would surely fall in love with you.

My Secret Recipe for Oaksmeal Cookies:

Cream together:
1/2 lb. real butter
1 cup brown sugar
1 cup white sugar

1 tsp. vanilla

Add 2 eggs and beat

Sift together:
2 cups flour
1/2 tsp. salt
1 tsp. soda

1 tsp. baking powder

Add flour mixture to sugar mixture

Fold in:
1 package semi-sweet chocolate chips
1 1/2 cups pecans (roast for 5 minutes while oven is preheating-crumble by hand)

2 1/2 cups oatmeal

Golf ball size on cookie sheet.

Bake at 400 for 9 minutes. Do not overbake. Should be very chewy.  Must be eaten while Elder Oaks is speaking.

.

Isn’t this great?! Thanx so much, Emily!!! (So, I totally copied this idea, but when buying the items, noticed there were A LOT of sweets, which in my family leads to tummy aches! I changed some of them up a bit to include more healthy items, as well. Such a fun idea, Emily!)

For more General Conference ideas from the past, go here.

Responses

  1. I think I would add relief society rocky road for when a member of the presidency speaks, and primary peanut butter cups… If I could. :)

    • ACK!!! LOVE Nancy!!! Thanx for the idea!! Sooo cute!

  2. Reblogged this on marysilverwhite and commented:
    I wish that I had these ideas when I was growing up!

  3. What an awesome idea! My kids would love it!
    Sandy


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 438 other followers

