Posted by: ad65shorty | June 18, 2009

Sensory Table

These sensory tables are a staple in most preschool and kindergarten classrooms because early childhood teachers understand how much learning goes on while the children are simply playing. I think these are also fabulous to have any time of year in your house! Summer is ideal because you can place it outside–less mess, less work. Your children will be entertained for hours!

I found this incredible link awhile ago that explains the benefits of sensory play, as well as ideas for making your own, and ideas for materials to place inside: http://www.preschooleducation.com/ebook/sand.pdf   It’s long, but totally worth your time. Seriously!

If you feel this is too much for one or two children, make it simpler. I used a tupperware for awhile so that I didn’t have to fill it as full. I placed it in a cookie sheet and my son would play with it on the kitchen floor. It was really nice on those rainy days, or in the middle of winter when it’s just too cold to go outside.

Have fun!

 

*click on picture for image link


Responses

  1. This winter I used dry cereal in a box, with a blanket underneath it on the living room floor. My son LOVED it. I pulled out wooden spoons and scoops, it was a great activity. And perfect for a winter day too.

  2. Melissa,

    How fun!! We’ll have to remember that one for a rainy day activity! Thanx for sharing!

    Angee 🙂


Leave a comment

Categories