Posted by: ad65shorty | May 8, 2013

Mother’s Day Idea: Handprint Vase

Fact: I am a sucker for handprint art. So, when my daughter gave me this handprint vase for Mother’s Day last year, I about died from the cuteness! Oh.my! (She made it in preschool; I can take no credit. Darn it.)  I just love it, and it still sits in my kitchen, a year later! (I’m thinking this might be a great gift for Grandmas this year. I hope our Grandmas aren’t reading this…)

DSC_1238

I’m not exactly sure how it was done, but here’s my guess:

1. Paint the INSIDE of the jar. Put a dollop of craft paint in the bottom, tip upside-down and roll around until it’s all covered. Leave upside-down to allow excess paint to escape. Then, tip upright and let dry. Any color will be beautiful.

2. Using craft paint again, place your child’s handprint on the OUTSIDE. Let dry. I really, really like the white handprint in contrast with the color on the jar.

3. Be sure to write your child’s name and the date in permanent marker somewhere on the jar. I love how my daughter wrote her own. Memories for me.

4. Optional: Tie with a big bow and place a fake flower inside.* With the bow, they didn’t even have to wrap it. LOVE!

*Note: You cannot fill the jar with water, as the paint will wash away. I read somewhere that if you put a cup inside with water, you can then put real flowers in. I would love fresh flowers as a centerpiece for spring!

Responses

  1. I love this idea, So cute :)! I might have to do it with my kids for their grandmas this weekend… Thanks for sharing!

  2. That is stinkin’ cute!

  3. Love, love, LOVE this! What a great idea.

  4. I love this idea!! So fun!


Leave a Reply

Categories

