Posted by: ad65shorty | November 15, 2013

Simple Homemade Native American Costume

Another favorite of yours! This is my 2nd top post of all time (second only to pumpkin pie playdough). I hadn’t planned on sharing it so I don’t have any pictures of the process. It’s fairly simple to make though with minimal sewing. Perfect for a Thanksgiving feast!

I am so proud of this project!!! In my 31 years, I think I have sewn maybe 5 things all by myself. Sewing is so hard for me and makes me cry, but I had this vision and wanted to see if I could create it! My son’s Kindergarten teacher asked that the kids come in either a Pilgrim costume or a Native American costume for their Friendship Feast at school. My son chose a Native American. So, this is what I came up with:

Cute, huh?! (Sorry about the quality of pictures. It’s really dark and cloudy today, and I was in a hurry!)

Here are my directions. I don’t have pictures of the process because honestly, I didn’t think about it. If you need any clarification, please ask!

1. I bought a light brown fleece material at my local craft store, enough to make a smock for him, and a dress for my daughter.

2. I measured (by sight) how long to make it and how wide to make it. My son’s went about mid-thigh. My kids are the perfect height that I was able to just copy his to make a knee-length dress for my daughter. I added a couple of inches to the width to accomodate for the seam.

3. I folded the material at the shoulders so that it would have a front and a back and drew a t-shirt shape (with no sleeves) with marker on the material.

4. I cut it out, then measured it again against my son. (Just to check ’cause I’m a little OCD!)

5. At the fold, near the top, I found the middle and marked it. I then created a “V” shape neck-line for the front. My sister-in-law suggested cutting a slit at the back so it would go over his head easily and still look nice when he was wearing it. She said I could safety pin it, but we just let it hang. Start small ’cause you can always cut bigger.

6. I then turned it inside-out and sewed about a one-inch seam on each side. My sister-in-law suggested having it curve near the armpit area so it was more comfortable. I just guess-timated on that!  (She also suggested to sew the seam on the outside, and then cut fringe down the side. Cute idea, but way too advanced for me!)

7. I turned it right-side out and cut a little fringe at the bottom. Mine are about an inch wide and a couple inches up.

8. We then took craft paint and some sponges we have to decorate. My daughter painted her whole dress. My son did a row near the neck and at the bottom by the fringe.

9. I also made them simple head-dresses. I cut a 2-inch strip that was wide enough to fit their heads. They each picked some feathers, and I sewed them onto the headband, then sewed the strip into a band to fit. This was a little tricky for me, but I did it!

My Native American neighbors ranted and raved about how well I did. I was just a little proud! 🙂

And my kids have worn them all day and are so excited to wear them for Thanksgiving dinner on Thursday!


Responses

  1. […] Download Image More @ dressesandmesses.wordpress.com […]


Leave a comment

Categories