Posted by: ad65shorty | January 23, 2012

Transportation Painting

I will be pulling from my archives again this week to share some fun transportation ideas with you!

This week, I will be focusing on transportation ideas. If your children are anything like mine, they are fascincated by “things that go.” Today, I will share a fun twist on painting with a transportation theme! This is a great one for a rainy day, or a day like mine, where my kids could not get along! 🙂 Sometimes you just need to pull out something different!

completed by 2-year-old

Supplies:

supplies

paint

toy cars (try to find cars that have different textures on the wheels)

paper

paper plates for putting the paint on

Activity:

1. Put one color of paint on each paper plate.

2. Cover your children with a paint shirt and give them each a piece of paper. I like to tape their papers down so they don’t move around.

rolling car in paint

3. Have your children run the toy cars through the paint, then run the toy car on their own papers.

rolling car on paper

4. Repeat with a different car and possibly different colors. I try to choose cars that have different wheel designs so you get different textures on the papers.

completed by 5-year-old

My favorite part of this project is that it is so open-ended!! My kids did about 3 each, and every single one was different! LOVE it!

(We made these into placemats for grandparents and aunts/uncles when my son was about a year old. They loved them!)


Leave a comment

Categories