Posted by: ad65shorty | October 20, 2009

Pumpkin Pie Playdough

This is a large Ziplock bag. The recipe probably made about 12 cups.

With Halloween just around the corner, pumpkins are on the mind. We’re going to try this fun recipe I found in my Halloween file. It sounds like it makes a lot so I’ll probably half the recipe. To add to the fun, we’ll pull out our Halloween cookie cutters and maybe make a pretend pumpkin pie!

Pumpkin Pie Playdough

Supplies:

5 1/2 cups flour

2 cups salt

8 teaspoons cream of tartar

3/4 cup oil

1 container (1 1/12 ounces) pumpkin pie spice

orange food coloring (2 parts yellow, 1 part red)

4 cups water

(This makes A LOT (see picture)! For a smaller recipe, go here.)

Procedure:

Mix all ingredients together. Cook and stir constantly over medium heat until lumps disappear. Knead the dough on floured surface until smooth.

Let me know what you think!

 

*Post-edit: We tried this today, and it turned out great!!! I love the smooth texture! I actually reduced the recipe to 1/4 of what is says, which gave both my kids plenty to play with (for the smaller recipe, go here). The playdough smells so yummy, good enough to eat actually. My two-year-old did try to taste it, and spit it all out! It is non-toxic, but definitely not edible! 🙂


Responses

  1. This was AWESOME!! I have never made playdough before, but I will never buy any ever again b/c this ROCKS!! We had so much fun playing it and I have shared this recipe with others already!!

    • So glad you liked it. I’m telling you, homemade playdough is the way to go! It’s cheaper, safer, and lasts longer. Plus, I like the texture better and seems to be easier to clean up. And I love that whenever ours gets dry, my kids can have new playdough immediately instead of waiting for me to go to the store.

      Here’s the recipe to my favorite playdough. This stuff is amazing! https://dressesandmesses.wordpress.com/2009/03/23/playdough/

      • I will definitely be using this recipe! Thanks! I just wanted to share that a friend told me they would add glitter to theirs when making it, so I think I’ll try that too.

  2. Thanx, Gina! Glitter would be so fun!

  3. […] might just make you want to play with this stuff right alongside your kids. I first saw this on Dresses ‘n Messes. Be warned though, this recipe makes a lot–all that you see here–7 portions the size of […]

  4. […] your waiting for that turkey to bake, you might want to check out Dresses n’ Messes. She has a great recipe for fun…Pumpkin Pie […]

  5. […] pumpkin pie play dough and then the kids had a blast playing with it for a long time.  We used the recipe from Dresses and Messes.  This play dough really did have a great texture to it.  I pulled out some cookie cutters- along […]


Leave a comment

Categories