Posted by: ad65shorty | January 1, 2015

Transitioning from Nursery to Sunbeams

A repost from the past, as my little guy is moving from Nursery into Sunbeams at church.

Sunbeam cake, scriptures wrapped up, and reading chart

In our church each January, each child moves to a new class. Their knowledge of our church’s beliefs grows as they move into this new class. It’s really quite exciting for the kids! Well, my daughter turned 3 this past year, which means that she moves from the Nursery class, where there are toys and snacks, into Primary, which is a more formal church setting. It’s a huge transition! We started this little tradition years ago when my son was at the same point. He used to struggle with big transitions so we wanted to make a big deal about it and make it exciting, instead of scary. My daughter is really easy-going, but we decided to do the same thing for her. My friend mentioned that this may be something that could be passed on from generation to generation, which really touched my heart. Anyway, so here’s what we do:

We call it a Primary Party and spend an evening celebrating this fabulous transition. My daughter’s new class is called Sunbeams so I make a Sunbeam cake (or a sunshine). It’s quite the undertaking for this gal, but the kids don’t seem to mind the imperfections. I cooked a yellow cake in 2 round cake pans. I then keep the one round and slice the other one into triangles, like a pie. Those triangles become the rays. I then decorate it with yellow frosting. I like to use my star-tip decorating tip. It took a good 2 cans of frosting. I probably could have used part of a third.

This year, we are learning about the scriptures in our Primary so we thought we’d buy each child a new set of scriptures. We got a small, simple set for our daughter and wrapped them up. This year was unique, as my son is moving from the younger group into the older group so we also decided to get him a new set, as well. They were both so excited! My daughter cannot get enough of hers! She has scriptures like the rest of the family and is thrilled! Her outfit was not complete on Sunday until she was holding her scriptures (seriously). She spent the whole meeting on Sunday turning the pages. And she begs to read from them every night. It’s adorable to see her excitement!

In the past, I shared a story from the Friend about moving into Sunbeams, but I couldn’t find it this year. Instead, we spent some time talking about the new year, what to expect, what they’re going to be learning, etc.  The kids spent the next 1/2 hour looking through their scriptures with us. My son got out his marking pencil and marked a couple of his favorite scriptures. It was a memorable night, and their excitement is really catching!

Leave a Reply

Categories

