Posted by: ad65shorty | February 9, 2014

Heart-Shaped Mini Pop-Up Pancakes for Valentine’s Day!

My kids love mini pop-up pancakes for breakfast (sometimes these are known as mini German pancakes). For Valentine’s Day, I’ll make them more special by baking them in my heart-shaped muffin tin instead. (Yes, Honey. A heart-shaped muffin tin is a necessity.)  I serve them with red fruit and red fruit syrup. Bananas cut in heart-shapes are also adorable! The best thing about this recipe is how versatile it is. You can use any fruit, jam, or topping you want. For Valentine’s Day, think red and pink! I usually put a bunch of toppings on the table and let my family top their own.

DSC_0611

Ingredients:

1 cup milk

1 cup flour

6 eggs

1/4 cup melted butter

dash salt

Steps:

1. Preheat oven to 400.

2. Grease your heart-shaped muffin tin WELL. (You can also use a regular muffin tin, but this is for Valentine’s Day after all!)

3. Blend all the ingredients in a blender until smooth. (You can whisk it, but I find it’s harder to get it as smooth this way)

4. Pour into muffin tin. I fill mine between 1/3  and 1/2 full.

5. Bake for 15 minutes, or until golden and puffy on top. Remove immediately. Sometimes, I find I don’t grease my muffin tin well enough so the pancakes stick; if that happens, use a knife to pry them out.

6. For Valentine’s Day, top with red fruit, red jam, and powdered sugar or whipping cream to make it extra special.

Makes about 24 mini pancakes. This is a really easy recipe to half or double, if needed.

My 6-year-old arranged this one! Isn't it cute?!

My 6-year-old arranged this one! Isn’t it cute?!

This post is part of the 14 Days of Love series over at Crafty Night Owls. Go check out the other creative ideas to enrich your Valentine’s Day fun!

Responses

  1. These look so yummy. Wish I were at your house this morning.

    • Thanx for spotlighting them, Carrie!


Leave a Reply

Categories

