Posted by: ad65shorty | September 13, 2013

Footprint Ghosts on Canvas


I know. I know. It’s a little early for Halloween, but I’m so excited to be participating in the 30 Days of Halloween series over at Cupcake Diaries!! Every day in September a new Halloween-related post will be shared by some fantastic bloggers to get your creative juices flowing for the upcoming holiday! I’ve been following the series all month, and wow! there are some cute ideas!! It’s definitely put me in the mood for fall and all that comes with it!

DSC_0529

Ever since I made these footprint snowmen for Christmas, I’ve been dying to make a footprint canvas of ghosts for my wall for Halloween!! I finally got around to it! I love handprint/footprint art! And I love doing projects like these on canvas because it becomes a true piece of art for my home. It’s something I will keep around much longer than an art project on a piece of construction paper. And sadly, I’m realizing that my 9-year-old is almost physically too big for many more of these projects… I will treasure the last few I can do with him!

Supplies:DSC_0519

art canvas (I used an 11 x 14)

black paint (I used acrylic)

white paint (again, I used acrylic)

paint brush

sponge brush

paint pallets (I like paper plates. Easy clean-up!)

googly eyes

craft glue

Instructions:

1. Cover your work area.

2. Paint the canvas all black. Be sure to get the sides! This is a fun and easy project for your kids to do. Be sure to cover them because acrylic paint does stain! Let dry (mine took about 15 minutes). Apply a second coat, if desired.

DSC_0522

(sorry about the brightness here; my camera settings were off, and I didn’t readjust! don’t blind yourself!)

3. Pour white paint onto paint pallet (I like to use a large paper plate because I can just throw it away afterwards. It also fits my children’s feet pretty well). Place your child’s foot on the paint. Use a paint brush to get all the spaces and to get the paint evenly distributed. Expect giggles! Gently press your child’s foot onto the canvas. Let dry. Tip: I like to do this portion in the bathroom. I place the canvas on the floor so that they can simply step to make their print. After they have done their footprint, they can put their feet in the bathtub and wash off. Easy clean-up, too!

DSC_0525

4. Turn your canvas so the footprints are upside-down.

DSC_0526

Notice the toes are down, the heels are up

5. Glue the googly eyes on near the heel part. Let dry before hanging. (I love that my big boy’s arch is in the middle of his foot so it looks like the ghost’s mouth!)

DSC_0529

DSC_0530

And a close-up

6. Be sure to write your child’s name and the date on the back.

7. Display in your house for Halloween!

Thanx so much for putting this series together, Allie!! I can’t wait to get started on some of these projects!

Responses

  1. So cute! You have made me ready for Halloween as well!


Leave a Reply

Categories

