Posted by: ad65shorty | July 8, 2013

Stories for Snuggling: Hero Dad

As I sat watching the fireworks this week with my family, I thought of all those families who sacrifice so much for the freedoms I enjoy. I have the freedom to sit with my family and watch the fireworks and just be so happy, while other families are separated at this very moment. I then thought of a favorite book I discovered a couple of years back when one of my friends was deployed. I wanted to share it with you.

Hero Dad by Melinda Hardin

Summary:

This book is written from the perspective of a child and begins with the line, “My dad is a superhero.” It then goes on to compare why his dad (who is a soldier) is a superhero in his eyes. His dad carries a gun (a rifle, not a laser gun). His dad flies (showing his dad parachuting into the sky). His dad doesn’t have x-ray vision, but he does have night-vision. One sentence on each page, with simple pictures.

A perfect story for those families who are dealing with separation from their loved ones at this time.

THANK YOU isn’t sufficient for all the sacrifices you make for us! We love and appreciate you so much!

Leave a Reply

Categories

