Posted by: ad65shorty | May 21, 2013

Stories for Snuggling: Treasury of Illustrated Classics

Need a new bedtime book for your children? Or want to keep your children reading through the summer?

We just discovered this series of classics geared towards elementary school children: Treasury of Illustrated Classics! They’ve taken the full classic and simplified it, only including the most important details. There are also pictures interlaced into the story, which contribute to comprehension. My children can now share my favorites without having to read the full multi-hundred page books (most of these are less than 200 pages). And I know high school teachers are loving these because kids are now coming to school with knowledge of these required classics, whereas many hadn’t ever read them before.

I can’t find a site anywhere that tells how many total there are; the most I can see is 36. I listed a few of our favorites below, so be sure to check out more of the titles here.

My 8-year-old finished Moby Dick in one day; couldn’t put it down! He wanted to read it because Matilda does. HA!

I just ordered Little Women and Anne of Green Gables for my almost 6-year-old for her birthday. She loves the movies, but the books are a little over head. She won’t be able to read them independently, but I’m hoping we can enjoy them together! (Lauren–Maddie would LOVE these and might be able to read them!)

We also ordered The Adventures of Tom Sawyer and Journey to the Center of the Earth (his request) for my son for his birthday later this year.

I’m sure you could find these at your library. I found some at Hobby Lobby for $1.99 (hardback)!! And Amazon sells most of these for cheap (I’m talking, less than $5.00).

I think these would be great for 3rd – 6th graders independently, and for younger children if you’re reading it with them (I’m thinking bedtime book for my older kids).

I love that my kids are learning to love the classics at such a young age! Go check these out!

Responses

  1. These are so fun! Megan also loves Black Beauty.

    • Ooh! My animal loving daughter would probably like that one, too! That’s next on the list! 🙂 Thanx for the suggestion, Emily!

  2. I need to hunt these down, they sound great for summer! Do you think Hobby Lobby still has them?

    • Yes. I was there on Monday browsing, and they still had them. At the back by the foam you use for wreaths–on an end aisle. But their selection was really limited. Moby Dick, Pygmalion, Tom Sawyer or Huck Finn (I can’t remember which). I was disappointed with the selection. I was able to get the ones I wanted on Amazon, and Barnes and Noble also sells them. Let me know what you think (even if you don’t like them!).


Leave a Reply

Categories

