Posted by: ad65shorty | February 13, 2013

Homemade Pom-Pom Valentine Love Monsters

I was put in charge of the craft for my 2nd grader’s Valentine party. The room mom made a specific request that the craft would cater to the boys, as well. She has 4 girls and was struggling with an idea. I remembered seeing these pom-pom monsters before and decided to adapt them to fit the holiday. I just thought they were the cutest! I made one for each of my kids one evening and put them in their mailboxes to see if my son would think they were cool. He did!

DSC_1293

I also wanted to see if my children (ages 8 and 5) could make these pretty independently to determine if they would work for the class craft. My 8-year-old did them with no support. My 5-year-old needed just a tiny bit. They are now obsessed with making these and have used up most of my yarn, googly eyes, and pipe cleaners! The monsters they have made are adorable, and we now have a whole monster family living at our house!

Supplies:

Yarn (any color, but for Valentine’s Day, choose red, pink, or white tones)

Something to wrap the yarn around (your cell phone, your hand, or cardboard are all ideas)

Googly eyes

Craft foam (the sheets are great for cutting your own designs, but I also bought foam heart stickers)

Pipe cleaners

Any other art supplies you want to use. Your imagination is the limit. (pom-poms, feathers, etc)

Craft glue

How-to:

1. Wrap your yarn around something about 70 times. I used my TV remote, my hand with fingers closed, and a strip of cardboard (mine is about 2- x 3-inches). Play around with the number of times you wrap. I didn’t like the look of less than 70 wraps. Also, your pom-pom will be bigger if you choose a bigger item to wrap around, smaller if you choose a smaller item. I personally like the smaller ones. Play around with it and see what you like!

DSC_1294

2. Carefully slip the yarn off your item. If you used cardboard, you can bend it a bit to make it easier to slide off, as seen in the picture below.

DSC_1295

3. Wrap a piece of yarn around the middle of the whole thing and tie TIGHT. (My kids needed help with this. It’s a little tricky.) Note: Use the same color yarn for the whole project. I did black on pink so you could see it well.

DSC_1314

So, I’ve just slid the yarn off the cardboard and am laying it down on top of a small bit of yarn to tie.

DSC_1315

Wrapping the yarn around.

DSC_1316

Completed and tied with a knot. The ends from the knot string will blend in with the pom-pom as it gets fluffier.

4. Now comes the fun part! Give your monster a haircut! Cut the loops with your scissors. You need to cut each loop, then continue cutting to even it all out. My kids cut some really far down, and they turned out really cute! I don’t think you can go wrong here. This part is messy so be sure to cut over something like a garbage can or bowl. You should now have a cute little pom-pom.

DSC_1297

5. Decorate! Add teeth, eyes (or just one), antennae, arms, and feet with craft glue. I used a glue gun for any part that just didn’t stick, but most parts stayed with the craft glue.

6. Aren’t they just the cutest?! Now hide in a drawer or place on a pillow for someone who needs a little bit of love this Valentine’s Day. They’ll be sure to bring a smile!

DSC_1293

Two of our cute love monsters hiding in our mailboxes.

Responses

  1. Hi! I can’t find a contact email on your site and I have a question about your leprechaun pie post. If you could reach out to me at mariaannem@gmail.com that would be great. Thanks so much!


Leave a Reply

Categories

