Posted by: ad65shorty | December 21, 2012

Christmas Handprint Crafts

I LOVE handprint crafts! In my opinion, this is a great way to document your child’s rapid growth. Plus, it’s so fun for them to see how much they’ve grown year to year! Today I will be sharing a couple with a Christmas theme.

Handprint Santa:

Isn’t this just the cutest thing you’ve ever seen?! I found it years ago through Little Giraffes, a website done by a former kindergarten teacher. She has some amazing ideas that I used a lot while teaching preschool. She no longer manages the website, but the ideas are still hers. Check it out!

Anyway, to make this picture:

1. Paint fingers white

2. Paint base of palm pink (you can paint a thin strip of white above it; I chose not to).

3. Paint thumb and rest of palm red.

4. Press on colored paper. I found that if I press it right-side up, it’s easier for the kids. Then when it dries, you can simply flip the paper upside-down to complete the picture. Also, it looks cuter if your child keeps their fingers together for the beard rather than spread.

5. Once dry, draw the eyes and mouth with a crayon or marker.

6. My kids like to add a piece of cotton to the end of the hat.

*This is a handprint of my 18-month-old. It’s more of a texture experience for this age. Obviously, I drew the face!

**We made these as a Christmas card for my son’s preschool teacher last year. It was adorable and she loved it!

Hand and Footprint Reindeer:

To make this one:

1. Trace your child’s foot on brown paper. Cut out.

2. Trace your child’s handprints (both hands) on brown paper. Cut out.

3. Glue the handprints to the top of the footprint.

4. Using construction paper or crayons, have your child add a reindeer face. It’s really cute to add a bright red nose for Rudolph.

*This one is done completely by a 4-year-old, cut by me.

Handprint Calendar:

For Christmas every year, we make a calendar for all the grandparents. I always do pictures, but have always wanted to make a handprint calendar. (Oh! I am so doing this for my house this year! Just a thought I had right now.) Once again, the idea came from Little Giraffes. On her site, she includes instructions on how to make a handprint design for each month. She also includes a poem for each month. The only change I would do is make the calendar part bigger so grandparents could write in the spaces. Check it out here: http://www.littlegiraffes.com/handprintcalendar.html It’s seriously the cutest thing you’ll ever see! I love it!!

If you make any of these crafts and show them on your blog, leave us a link in the comments! I’d love to see the different personalities that show through! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Categories

