Posted by: ad65shorty | November 5, 2012

Gratitude Countdown Revised

Well, we’ve run into some technical difficulties with this Thanksgiving countdown. The link I originally used is no longer working, and no one seems to be able to fix it. So… even though I don’t have a PDF for you, I did type up the original ideas so you can make your own slips. I’m so sorry I don’t have something you can just print, but hopefully, this will help! There are more than you need so pick and choose the ones you want to use. I keep all the ideas in a file since the countdown to Thanksgiving changes every year and just choose the number I need.

I am thankful for pies! Make some pumpkin pies to deliver to anyone.

I am thankful for my toys! Give some of your toys to Goodwill to give to other kids.

I am thankful for turkeys! Art Project: Make paper turkeys.

I am thankful for the scriptures! Have an FHE (family night) on a favorite scripture story–memorize a scripture.

I am thankful for my Heavenly Father! Write in your journal and say a prayer expressing your love and gratitude.

I am thankful for prayer! Say a prayer only using the words “I thank Thee for…” and don’t ask for anything.

I am thankful for my teeth! Give Mom and Dad some Halloween candy and brush and floss.

I am thankful for food! Go to the store and pick out a food that you haven’t tried yet!

I am thankful for my legs! Go outside–run and jump or ride your bike!

I am thankful for our kitchen! Bake something fun together in the kitchen.

I am thankful for my brothers! Do something nice for your brother (make his bed, do his job, play a game with him).

I am thankful for my family! Play a game together, inside or outside (board game, hike, chalk art, etc).

I am thankful for my ears! Close your eyes and listen to music! Play some music. Enjoy it all day! (and I’ll add, have a dance party)

I am thankful for computers! Send an email to someone you love and a photo.

I am thankful for grandparents! Call and tell them “I love you” “I am grateful for you.”

I am thankful for my home! Clean out a hall, bedroom, or upstairs closet together.  Play music and have fun!

I am thankful for neighbors! Do a secret service for your neighbor (rake leaves, pull weeds, leave a treat, etc).

I am thankful for my hands! Art project: Fingerpaint or drawing.

I am thankful for my teachers! Make a plate of cookies and/or a card for your piano, Primary (church), or school teacher.

I am thankful for the seasons! Go on a walk, enjoy nature, the colors, etc.

I am thankful for my mom! Do something nice for mom (write her a note, good chocolate, cook and clean up dinner, do the laundry, clean any room, etc).

I am thankful for a prophet! Read a conference talk or article in the church magazines by him.

I am thankful for my dad! Do something nice for dad (run and give him a hug when he comes home from work, write him a note, shine his shoes, clean his closet, organize the garage, etc).

I am thankful for sisters! Do something nice for her (make her bed, do her job, play a game with her, etc).

I am thankful for books! Go to the library and pick out some Thanksgiving books.

I am thankful for my eyes! Watch a special movie with your family.

I am thankful for our car! Clean out the car and go get ice cream cones in it!

I am thankful for my cousins! Call or write a letter to one of your cousins.

So, there you go. Please let me know if there are any typos, as it’s late, and I’m tired!

Responses

  1. […] up and working!)  *I haven’t ever heard back from either lady so… I typed up the ideas here. You can copy and paste and make your own. It’s the best I could do […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

