Posted by: ad65shorty | October 30, 2012

Gratitude Countdown to Thanksgiving

I know. I know. It’s not even Halloween yet, and I’m thinking about Thanksgiving already. This one takes a little bit of prep so I wanted to give you some time to put it together if you’re interested!

I love this Gratitude Countdown to Thanksgiving! The idea is simple: You write 22 things you’re thankful for on slips of paper (one for each day until Thanksgiving) and put them in a jar. Each day your family pulls one out, reads it, and then does the corresponding activity. For example, “We are thankful for our neighbors,” and then you do something for one of your neighbors.

This has become a yearly tradition in our home. We found it taught our children a lot about service, improved their prayers, and helped them see how blessed we are! They looked forward to pulling out a slip every night at dinner and seeing what our activity for the evening was. It’s fun to be “spontaneous” every once in awhile!

*To make it really easy, the work is already done! The slips can be found here. You can print them off, cut them out, and put them in your own jar! (It’s been brought to my attention that the link is broken. I’ve contacted Melanie from Sugardoodle, as well as the original author and will get back you. Hopefully we can get it back up and working!)  *I haven’t ever heard back from either lady so… I typed up the ideas here. You can copy and paste and make your own. It’s the best I could do considering.)

**Original idea found here.

I’d love to hear your family’s experiences with this activity!

Responses

  1. Thanks, Angee! I am thankful for YOU!!

    The sugardoodle link isn’t working…

    • Thanx, Emily! Yep. The link is broken. So until it’s up, I guess you’ll have to make your own (I can send you the ideas through email, if you want). Thanx for letting me know.

      (I have contacted Melanie at Sugardoodle, as well as the original author. Let’s hope they get back to us soon.)

  2. I contacted her too…hopefully she’ll put it back up!

  3. […] we’ve run into some technical difficulties with this Thanksgiving countdown. The link I originally used is no longer working, and no one seems to be able to fix it. So… […]

  4. I typed up the ideas here: https://dressesandmesses.wordpress.com/2012/11/05/gratitude-countdown-revised/

    Not as good as having it done all cute for you, but it’s the best I could do. You can copy and paste them to make your own. So sorry again!


Leave a Reply

Categories

