Posted by: ad65shorty | August 15, 2011

Blast From the Past: All About Me Dolls

This is an annual tradition for our family at the beginning of the year. I have them all filed away. It’s fun to see the growth and changes in each child from year to year.

I have a paper doll that looks like this:

I also have a girl version–same figure, just with a skirt. It really doesn’t matter though.

The kids cut out and decorate the doll to look like them using any sort of medium they want–construction paper, yarn, stickers, markers, and felt are good ideas.

My son's when he was 4

They then fill out an info sheet. I include these questions:

Full name ________

Favorite color ________

Favorite food ______

I love to ________

I dislike to _______

The funniest thing I have ever done _________

I have ___ sisters and ___ brothers

Favorite book ______

When I am outside, I like to ___________

When I am inside, I like to _________

The thing I like best about school is _________

I am excited to be in preschool (or whatever grade) because _________

When I grow up, I want to be _______

I like myself because ______

I am a unique and special person because I (list 5 reasons or qualities):

1. _______

2. _______

3. _______

4. ________

5. ________

I like to display ours on the fridge for the whole year, and then put it in my child’s file when we complete our new one. It’s so fun to see how they grow and change. For example, when my son was three, I said, “When I grow up, I want to be…” And he shouted out, “HANDSOME!”

Here are some of ours from the past:

 

My 3-year-old dressed as Ladybug Girl!

My 6-year-old as Iron Man

Leave a Reply

Categories

