Posted by: ad65shorty | March 22, 2011

Cinnamon Bun Popcorn

Oh.my.gosh! This stuff is seriously the best! I got the recipe from my sister-in-law’s sister (thanx, Laralee!) so I can’t take any credit. I took it to a party last night, and people just couldn’t get enough! In fact, the guys kept telling their wives that they needed to ask me for the recipe! haha  My kids loved helping me mix and pour, and of course, taste (they’re the best tasters ever, I swear!).

Cinnamon Bun Popcorn

1 cup pecan halves, roughly chopped or left in half (I usually leave these out, just ’cause we’re not nut people)

1 cup brown sugar

1 teas. cinnamon

1/4 cup Karo syrup

1 stick of butter

1 teas. vanilla

1/2 teas. baking soda

4 oz or so white chocolate (I also did 4 oz milk chocolate)

1/2 cup popcorn kernels

.

Pop your popcorn. Remove all un-popped kernels and place popcorn in large bowl. Add nuts.

In a bowl, combine the brown sugar and cinnamon and mix well. Chop cold butter into cubes and place on top. Pour corn syrup over the top of that. Microwave in a safe bowl for 30 seconds. Stir. Microwave 2 more minutes. Stir. Microwave a final 2 minutes. (I just did it on the stove top. Everything just needs to be mixed together well.)

Remove and add vanilla and baking soda. Stir. Mixture will foam and rise. Pour caramel mixture over popcorn and nuts. Stir very well to combine.

.

If you like it crunchy:

Pour out onto foil-lined jelly roll plan and place in oven at 250 degrees for 30 minutes, stirring every 10 minutes. Remove and spread on large piece of parchment, waxed paper, or foil. Drizzle with melted white chocolate. Let dry and break into chunks. Package or keep in a container.

.

If you like it soft:

Pour mixed popcorn onto a large rectangle of parchment, foiled sprayed with Pam, or waxed paper. Drizzle with melted white chocolate. Let dry and package or put into a container or plastic bag.

Responses

  1. Cannot wait to try this!! Started a 30 day sugar fast though on the 30th… but this is totally on my list of the first sugar dives I’m taking when I’m done! Thanks!!!

    • It is SO good, Amy! You’ll have to let me know what you think.


Leave a Reply

Categories

