Posted by: ad65shorty | March 19, 2011

The Lost Art of Letter Writing

My son wrote this letter to his great-grandpa a year ago: "I'm sorry that you lost your wife." Grandpa treasured it!

When was the last time you wrote a letter to a loved-one? When was the last time your children wrote a letter to a loved-one? Have they ever?

My husband and I were talking about this the other day. And how it’s becoming a lost art. I have to admit, I can’t remember the last time I received a letter in the mail–just because. We receive cards for birthdays and shower/wedding invites, but not just letters. And those are pretty exciting!! Growing up in the military, this was the only way I communicated with old friends. And oh! how I treasured those letters! There’s something so exciting about opening up the mailbox and seeing something so personal addressed to you! That someone took the time out of their busy schedule to devote just to you! I’ve kept many that are memorable through the years, and I love opening them up and seeing what people had to say. It’s a way into someone’s soul that you don’t get any other way.

My husband mentioned how our 80-something year-old grandparents don’t email or text and talking on the phone is even getting hard. But letter writing is something they understand and appreciate. He mentioned how it’s such a great way for our kids to connect with their great-grandparents, and it got me thinking about it.

So, I guess what I’m saying is why don’t we take some time to teach the growing generation about letter writing? Why don’t we set up pen pals with cousins or aunts/uncles or friends who’ve moved away? Why don’t we take the time to help them write a letter to a grandparent? All just because.

What are your thoughts? I’d love to hear.

Responses

  1. I have been doing a little more with my 5 year old now that he is doing so much better at writing. And it has helped him in his reading as well because he helps sound out the words to know how to spell them. So many skills he can practice! And he loves getting mail from grandma and grandpa, and I KNOW they love getting anything from him as well! Great post Angee!

    • I hadn’t thought about how much it helps in reading either. I guess it’s true that reading and writing really do go hand-in-hand. Thanx for your thoughts, Amy!

  2. I completely agree with you! It’s something I wish I made more time for.

    I got a surprise earlier this year when I was sitting down with my kids, helping them make their New Year’s Resolutions, and my 4-year old said one of the things he wanted to do was write letters to his friends and grandparents. It’s been fun to guide him through this process.

    • So neat, Mindy! Thanx for sharing your story! 🙂

  3. i totally agree that it is a lost art. I just posted about letter writing too!! My son wrote a few letters (one to his great grandfather, and one to his cousins). He LOVED it!!!

    http://mykidsmake.com/2011/03/create/pen-pals-and-letter-writing/


Leave a Reply

Categories

