Posted by: ad65shorty | January 20, 2011

Wordless Books?

Reader Question: Do you have great wordless books to recommend?  I’d like to do more wordless ones for my 5 yr old who can read so he stops and explores the pictures and doesn’t forget about his own imagination.

Any recommendations? I told her I couldn’t think of any off-top, but I’d think about it and respond soon. You can answer here or on Facebook. Thanx!

I found this document that lists 50 or more wordless picture books. Let me know if the link doesn’t work, and I can email it over. I listed a couple of my favorites on FB.

Here’s a list of books specifically for 3 – 6 year olds. I like this ’cause it’s got pictures of the books. I’ve read a couple of them.

Responses

  1. Here are a couple I thought of that I shared on FB:

    Tuesday by David Wiesner.

    Rosie’s Walk by Pat Hutchins.

    (Both of these are hilarious!)

    Goodnight Gorilla by Peggy Rathman. This last one is mostly wordless–mainly you see the word “goodnight.” It’s a favorite in our house, and my kids love telling the story in their own words.

    Most of the sites I went to talked about A Boy, A Dog, and A Frog by Mercer Mayer and Pancakes for Breakfast by Tomie dePaola. I’ve never read the books, but know both authors are fabulous!

    My son checked this one out of the library, and my kids really enjoyed it! It’s older, but I like those. It’s called Good Dog, Carl by Alexandra Day. Hilarious!

  2. i couldn’t get the document to come up. that’d be great if you could email it to me. i did get the link to the “colorin’ colorado” list of wordless. i’ve bookmarked. thx, again.


Leave a Reply

Categories

