Posted by: ad65shorty | November 3, 2010

Thanksgiving Thankful Countdown: Updated!

Update: We are LOVING this activity! My kids love choosing an activity at dinner each night. It’s taught them a lot about service, is improving their prayers, and is helping them see how many great things we have. Plus, it’s been great family bonding for us and gives us something productive to do each evening. For example, one night this week we picked “We are thankful for our teachers.” After talking about why we are thankful for our teachers, we made fudge and took it to all of our church teachers (my daughter has 6!). It was so fun to see my kids excited about dropping off the goodies and to see the smiles on their teachers’ faces. It was really cute to see my 3-year-old holding a plate of fudge, almost dropping it, and bursting with anticipation as she waited for the doors of her favorite teachers to open. My kids would then run back to the car, laughing and excited! Later we were able to talk about the joys of service, and included our teachers in our prayers. This activity just may become a new family tradition in our home. Have any of you incorporated this into your Thanksgiving traditions?

I am so sorry for the lack of posts. My daughter has been sick with the flu since Sunday. It has been a long couple of days, as she only wants to be held. A friend told me though that I have had the great opportunity to just be a mom the last couple of days. I love that! My house is a mess, and I did more than 20 loads of laundry in 2 days! It’s been crazy! But I have been blessed to just be a mom for her, and that is worth it!

I found this idea randomly today. It might be the only post I get up this week. Every November, I write every night in my journal one thing I’m thankful for that day, for a total of 30 days. It fills my heart with gratitude for all that I’m given by God and makes my step a little lighter. This idea is similar: You put 25 things you’re thankful for in a jar–one for every day until Thanksgiving. Each day your family pulls one out, reads it, and then does the corresponding activity. For example, We are thankful for our neighbors, and then you do something for one of your neighbors. LOVE it!

The idea can be found here.

And to make it really easy, the work is already done! The slips can be found here. You can print them off, cut them out, and put them in your own jar!

I love that this activity teaches your children to be grateful for the blessings in their lives and to recognize those things. Plus, it’s fun family bonding time! 🙂

I’d love to see your ideas. Leave us a link if you post this on your blog! 🙂

Responses

  1. I’m so glad you like it!! Bookmark it and do it next year too! I forget how I found it last year, but my kids are really getting into it. It’s fun to document it daily on my blog too! 🙂 Thanks for writing.

  2. We missed you yesterday and I’m so sorry I forgot to call when I got home! It wasn’t the same. 🙂 I hope she gets feeling better soon! It’s hard to be cooped up.


Leave a Reply

Categories

