Posted by: ad65shorty | September 29, 2010

Apple Orchard Dramatic Play Idea

I’ll be honest. I haven’t ever done this with my kids, but I think it’d be a blast! Here are my ideas for an apple orchard dramatic play activity:

Set up a table to be your apple stand. I would include a tablecloth, sign (something like “Apple Orchard” or “Apples for Sale”), a cash register with play money, a clipboard with paper and pencil*, and possibly a scale (to incorporate more math). Make a paper apple tree to hang on the wall near the stand. Provide small baskets for collecting apples in. Provide apples–they could be plastic or paper or even real ones. Let your children pretend to come to the apple orchard to pick apples. This would be great after a field trip to the apple orchard.

*I always, always incorporate writing into my dramatic play, if possible! What a natural way to get them writing! By providing the clipboard, the kids can write down how many apples are bought or the cost or the name of the child buying, etc. See what they come up with!

P.S.  Gosh! This makes me miss teaching preschool so much!

Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 438 other followers

