Posted by: ad65shorty | September 19, 2010

Kindergarten the New First Grade?

Oh, this article makes me sad! I think the saddest part is that it’s true. I have seen a major difference in Kindergarten, even since I stopped teaching public school, which was only 5 years ago. There are no blocks or make-believe area or sensory table in my son’s Kindergarten class. He didn’t even experience a lot of that in preschool! What are we doing to our children?! And how is life going to be years from now when they are adults?! It just makes me so sad! 😦

Responses

  1. Honestly, that’s why I want to homeschool. Have you read the book “The Call to Brilliance” by Resa Steindel Brown. It has great alternatives to this crazy world that’s trying to make children work like adults.
    Thanks for your awesome blog!

    • Marie,

      Yeah, I can now understand why people home-school.

      I haven’t read that book. I’ll have to put it on my to-read list. Thanx for the suggestion!

      Angee 🙂

  2. I completely agree!!! My mom is currently having to teach “gravity, force & motion” in her class this week. Physics for kindergarteners!!! And I think the past couple weeks the units have been on geology. That’s the new required curriculum for Jordan School District. I think it’s ridiculous. Let the kids play a little!

    At least my mom is able to make it fun (I actually told her I wanted to be in her kindergarten when she told me what they were doing…) All the worksheets and coloring pages are starting to drive me crazy, and it’s only week three!

    • Kim,

      I wish I could be in your moms Kindergarten, too! She was/is amazing!

      (For my readers, Kim’s mom was my favorite professor during my college years. She is the teacher I want to be when I grow up. Kim and I just happen to be in the same neighborhood, and figured out our connection awhile ago.)

      Thanx for your thoughts, Kim! I didn’t realize they had changed so much of the curriculum. I’m going to be looking at the requirements for my son’s class tonite!

      Angee 🙂

  3. It would be very interesting to me to see the differences between what Ty did in K at the charter school and what takes place in the public schools. I have had a hard time not being able to compare. I really thought Ty had a lot of “different” fun things. You’ll have to elaborate more on your findings.

    I do have to say just for the aspect of being in control of what your child learns and not dealing with “issues” with other kids I see why so many people do homeschool. Wouldn’t it be great to have a whole neighborhood do homeschool and you work together to make the education the best for the kids!

    • Thanx, ShayLynn! Maybe I’ll do a follow-up post in the future.

      And yes, a neighborhood home school would be awesome! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

