Posted by: ad65shorty | September 12, 2010

September’s Monthly Preschool Plan

I’m in the process of planning out my preschool year for my little girl. Our year will be very low-key, focusing on some basic fundamentals, but mostly focusing on projects that are fun and will strengthen our relationship. Do you realize this is the first time I have had really good one-on-one time with my daughter? And she really wants to go to school with her big brother so I’m hoping this will fill in the gaps. I’m really excited to combine my two favorite things: motherhood and teaching!

We are only doing preschool for a couple of hours each week. Now please understand that I feel it’s important that kids have SOMETHING to learn in school so I don’t push academics hard in preschool with my own children. (Although things with my son have worked out completely different than I planned. He was naturally exposed to things while I taught professionally in my home. What are you going to do?!)  This year, I’ll throw in some simple math concepts and letter activities, in addition to our themes. Themes make planning easy and so fun for learning (plus, it was the way I was taught to teach as an early childhood educator so it’s all I know)! I’m pretty much following most of what I did when I taught preschool professionally. Here is September’s very flexible plan:

Nursery Rhyme: Jack Be Nimble (name recognition), and possibly Who Stole the Cookie?

Weekly Themes: All About Me, My Family, Apples

Letters: Name activities

Math: One-to-one correspondence and basic number sense

Field Trip Ideas: Her choice, apple orchard

Notes: I focused on a shape a month when teaching professionally, but my daughter knows all of hers so I will not be doing that with her. I also feel it’s important for kids to know Nursery Rhymes so I try to throw a couple of those in each month. My daughter has some speech issues that we’re working on so I’m hoping Nursery Rhymes will help in that regard, as well as helping her learn rhyming and rhythm. I also try to take my kids on a “field trip” each week that corresponds with our weekly theme (in preschool, I did a field trip monthly).

So, there you have it! I’ll be sharing lots of things we’re doing. Being accountable to YOU will keep me motivated to keep working with HER! Here’s to a great year! 🙂

Leave a Reply

Categories

