Posted by: ad65shorty | August 24, 2010

Birthday Ideas: Pancake / Pajama Party

With my son’s birthday this month, I have been in a party planning mood. I thought I’d take the time this week to share a couple of the birthday parties we have done for him. I am a simple, frugal person so you’ll find most of these ideas are not extravagant!

Pancake Party:

After a crazy year of moving, a new baby, unemployment, and the likes, we thought our son could use a little attention. We planned a simple, breakfast party for him and a couple of friends for his 4th birthday. (I don’t have a lot of pictures of this party because my husband was in charge of the camera, and he decided to take video. I’ll put pictures in when I can.)  This one was unique, and I think that’s what made it so fun!

Invitations: We passed out pillow shaped invitations that said to wear pajamas, bring a blanket, and a stuffed friend.

Food and Cake: We started the party early and served pancakes. We made the pancakes in the shape of a “J” since my son’s name starts with “J.”  We served bacon, fruit, and orange juice on the side. At that time, we also did his “cake.” We made a stack of pancakes with layers of whipping cream in between. My husband put LOTS of whipping cream on the top, and then completed the cake with strawberries and sprinkles. We put candles on top. The kids loved this, and everyone got a taste! (Hint: The whipping cream starts to melt quickly so put this on the fridge or freezer until it’s time!)

Games: After breakfast, we were ready for games. I always plan more than I need because you never know when you may need extra time. Here are the ideas I came up with, although we didn’t get to all of them.

Musical Blankets: Each child brought a blanket so we laid them out in a circle. As music played, they walked around the blankets. When the music stopped, they found a blanket and snuggled into it. For 4-year-olds, I did not take a blanket out; we just repeated. For older children, you would want to play the classic way.

Pass the Pillow (this one was a favorite!): Beforehand, fill a pillowcase (with pillow) with goodies. This is similar to hot potato. Pass the pillow as music plays. When the music stops, the child holding the pillow gets to choose a treat. Repeat until each child has had a turn.

Toss the Toy: Put a pillow or blanket in the middle of the room. Each child takes 5 steps back, and then tries to toss their stuffed animal onto the pillow.

PJ Parachute (I didn’t know what to call this one): The kids put their stuffed animals on the parachute, and we played games with them. We tried to keep them all on. We tried to bounce them all off. We put one on at a time and discovered which one bounced the highest. etc

Stuffed Animal Hunt: 4-year-olds love finding things so they would get a kick out of this one. Hide all of the animals, and then send the kids on a hunt to find theirs.

Bedtime Stories: I had a whole gaggle of bedtime stories to read, just in case. Go here for a list.

Goody Bag/Craft: We decorated pillowcases, which also served as their take-home “goody bag.” I bought sponges and CHEAP white pillowcases at Walmart. Go here for the how-to and hints. This was a HIT with the kids. They loved sleeping with their pillows the next day!

We ended the party with present opening. This party lasted an hour, which was good for this age-group. I didn’t play all of the games listed. It could have easily lasted an hour and 1/2 if I had. (If you want my time schedule, let me know.)

This was such a fun party, and I still have parents talking about it 2 years later!

Responses

  1. This is exactly what I was looking for!! Thanks for sharing!!

    • Oh, I’m so glad, Katie! It was a fun party! I’m sure yours will be, too. Thanx for stopping by! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

