Posted by: ad65shorty | July 5, 2010

Homemade Hair Bows

 

I make all of my little girl’s hairbows. I’m no expert by all means, but I find that it’s so much cheaper than buying them, and I’m all for saving money. Today, I thought I’d share what I have learned, in case you’re interested. They are so much fun, and I love designing them to fit her specific outfits!

Supplies needed for bows: ribbon, hot glue, florist wire, fray blocker (or lighter), clip of your choice, spray starch (optional)

Supplies needed for flowers: flowers, something for the middle (jewels or buttons), clip of your choice, ribbon for lining, hot glue

Instructions: Here is a website with free instructions that I use a lot. There are step-by-step instructions, large pictures, and instructions for other fun girly things. LOVE it!

Here are some hints/things I’ve learned through the process:

Where to buy ribbon and flowers: I like this website. Their prices are good, and they have a great selection. To save even more money, go in with a friend. You can also buy ribbons and flowers at any local craft store, including Walmart. I find their selections are smaller. Watch for specials! And be sure to buy early for holidays!

Where to buy clips: Most hair supply stores carry them, but I’ve noticed in the last little while that my local craft store also carries them. I bought a box of 100, taught a class of about 30 ladies with this box, use them for my own little girl, and still have a whole bunch almost 2 years later! Great bargain!

Other hints:

I like to spray my bows with starch when completely done. I think they uphold little hands better, and they make for a “crisp” look.

Make sure you fray block your ends—heat sealing and fray blocker (purchased at any craft store) work well. There are instructions for both on the website listed above. I fray block every cut I make, even the cuts for the knot that you don’t see.

Any kind of ribbon works, although I find the grosgrain (pronounced “gro grain”) stays better than the silkier ribbon on the clips when hot glued.

Alligator clips work really well for fine hair. My little one has had TONS of hair since she born, and these have always stayed in her hair! You can line your clips with Velcro or a cut up make-up sponge or even a ribbon if you want more hold.

I like the single prong alligator clips rather than the double prong. I find they work a lot better if you’re placing it on a headband or hat.

I also recommend lining your clips with ribbon, just to make them look more professional. It’s really easy. If you’re nervous about “doing it right,” look on that website listed above for instructions.

I don’t like the low heat glue guns. I find that my bows and flowers come off the clip whenever I use it. Go for the real thing!

If you need any more help, you can ask the employees at the craft stores.  The first time I made hair flowers, one of the sweet employees at my local craft store took me around and showed me “what most girls do.” It was so helpful and got my own creative juices flowing!

It takes practice to get the look that you want. Don’t give up! You can do this! If you have any questions, leave a comment or shoot me an email. I’ll do my best to help! 🙂

Responses

  1. I’ve been having fun making my girls hair accessories too. I haven’t tried the bows much yet, but I am addicted to making the flower clips. I have been using scrapbooking brads for the centers of the flowers. You just take out the middle part of the flower and stick your brad through the center of all the flowers. It becomes a little addicting! Too many cute scrapbooking brads out there right now!

  2. So stinkin cute! I still want lessons- I’m a hands on learner. 🙂

    • Amy, I just learned that technique a couple of weeks ago. So easy.

      Erika, Call me. We just got back into town. I’ll teach you in return for letting me hold your little one! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

