Posted by: ad65shorty | June 29, 2010

Double Chocolate Peppermint Cookies

I’ve probably told you a thousand times how much I love baking with my kids! I think it’s the joy of sharing with my kids something I loved doing with my mom as a kid. My daughter asks almost every day if she and I can make cookies together. Anyway, here’s a favorite recipe of ours. I have to give credit where it’s due–to my friend, Natalie, who seriously bakes the most delicious goodies! I am always stealing recipes from her!

Chocolate Peppermint Cookies

Cookies:

2 1/4 cups flour

3/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder

1 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp salt

1 cup unsalted butter, softened

1 cup brown sugar

3/4 cup sugar

2 eggs

2 tsp vanilla

2 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips

Glaze:

3/4 cup powdered sugar

2 drops mint extract, or more to taste

3 1/2 tsp milk

chopped mint candy, optional

Procedure:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

To make the cookies, in a medium bowl, sift flour, cocoa powder, baking soda, and salt together. Set aside. In a mixer, beat butter with sugars until fluffy, about 2 minutes. Add eggs, one at a time, beating until smooth after each egg and scraping the sides as necessary. Add vanilla. On low speed, mix in the flour mixture a little at a time. Gently mix in chocolate chips.

On an ungreased baking sheet, drop teaspoons of the batter. Bake until just cracked on top, about 8 minutes, rotating the pan halfway through the cooking time. Flatten the cookies slightly with a spatula after removing from the oven. Cool completely.

To make the glaze, in a small bowl, mix together the sugar, mint extract, and milk until smooth. (I add green food coloring here, as well.) Transfer mixture to a Ziplock baggie and snip off a tiny bit of the corner. Drizzle glaze over the cooled cookies. Let cookies stand until glaze sets, about 15-20 minutes.

You can also sprinkle with chopped mint candy before glaze sets, if desired.

Responses

  1. Sometimes I wish I had a regular food blog, rather than a healthy food blog… so I can make yummy stuff like this to share… Oh well, I’ll live vicariously through you.


Leave a Reply

Categories

