Posted by: ad65shorty | June 23, 2010

Sidewalk Paint

We had a blast with this activity last week, including me! I love those projects where you can just get down and create with your kids, and this was one of those. I hope you enjoy it as much as we did!

Supplies:

muffin tin (we used a mini tin)

measuring spoons

cornstarch

food coloring

water

paintbrushes (we had one per color, except for my daughter, who just mixed all hers together)

How to make:

1. You need equal parts of cornstarch and water. I did 2 teaspoons per cup holder in my mini muffin tin. If you use a normal-sized tin, just add more, a teaspoon or Tablespoon at a time. I actually add just a couple of drops more of water. If you have too much water, the colors won’t show up. If you have too much cornstarch, it’s really hard to paint!

2. Add food coloring. I did 4 drops for each one. I wanted my colors vivid. They will dry lighter. My son wanted to make white so I made up one with no color. Also fun!

3. Take outside and decorate your sidewalk! I did rinse off the brushes every once in awhile with the hose, as they tend to accumulate the cornstarch and get hard.

4. This will wash off with your hose, sprinklers, or rain. And what a fun surprise for your dad when he gets home from work! Ours loved it! 🙂

**Sorry about the lighting in my pictures. I so need a new camera!

Responses

  1. my kids really enjoy sidewalk chalk, but I’ll bet they’d LOVE this! Thanks for the great idea!

  2. […] Utah: Sidewalk paint (for directions, go here) […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

