Posted by: ad65shorty | June 7, 2010

Easy No-Sew Tutu

For the summer, I’m going to do things a little bit differently. Instead of a theme a week, I’m going to make my posts more random. I’ll still stick to the category of the day, but I may not share a full theme each week. I hope you enjoy the change!

Every little girl needs a princess tutu! I could never rationalize spending the money on one though. Years ago, I found some directions on-line for a simple no-sew tutu, which is perfect for me since I don’t sew. Plus, they are so much cheaper! And there’s something to be said about making things with your hands…. They are so easy to make and make great birthday gifts for all the little girls in your life!

For directions, go here. I made mine with tulle and alternated colors. I also used an elastic headband instead of sewing the elastic. They work just as well.

I’ve also jazzed these up by adding ribbons or sewing flowers or butterflies on them. I think a black and orange one with a black leotard would make a cheap, adorable Halloween witch costume. All you would need is a hat! A red one would make a cute ladybug, or you could do a red leotard with a black tutu… The possibilities are endless!

100_18251

This one was made for my son's friend, who was turning 4, when my Sweet Pea was only 1. She saw it, and HAD to put it on! It's a little big on her, but gives you an idea of how full it is.

Top view of an older, well-loved tutu. I love the pattern it makes around the elastic!

If you look closely at the bottom left corner, you can see one of the butterflies I sewed on. This was for her 1st birthday! As you can see, she LOVED it! This one is not made with tulle (too scratchy).

I would love to see pictures! Leave us a link if you make one!

Responses

  1. I might have to try this one. Grocery shopping with 5 kids is no easy task.

  2. oops, I commented on the wrong post 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

