Posted by: ad65shorty | April 19, 2010

Seed Predicting

I am loving Facebook! Thank you to all who have visited, commented, and shared my page with others. I love knowing just a little bit more about my readers! I wish I could meet each of you personally and hear your life stories. Seriously. But having that picture on FB is wonderful!

Okay, so with Earth Day being on Thursday, I thought it would be fun to learn a bit about plants this week. My kids LOVE being outside in nature, gardening, and seeing the fruits of their labors. It’s truly one of my favorite moments as a mom! Here’s an article I wrote about gardening with kids.

Here’s a fun seed predicting activity. The kids will get to choose some seeds and guess what they will turn into.

Preparation:

1. Fold a paper in half length-wise:

2. Cut four slits on ONE side of the paper:

3. Get a whole bunch of different types of seeds.

Activity:

1. Have the children choose one seed and glue it on the top of their paper (on one flap):

2. Have them flip the flap and draw a picture of what they think it’s going to look like when it blooms, or “is all grown-up.” It doesn’t matter if they are right or wrong; they are just predicting.

3. Have them repeat, until they have 4 different types of seeds.

**This was a FAVORITE centers activity for my preschoolers and 1st graders.

Leave a Reply

Categories

