Posted by: ad65shorty | April 16, 2010

Stories for Snuggling: 100 Hungry Ants

One Hundred Hungry Ants

One Hundred Hungry Ants by Elinor J. Pinczes

Summary:

1oo hungry ants march off to a picnic, but single file is much too slow for 100 hungry ants. One ann suggests that they travel in two rows of 50, then four rows of 25, and so on. Do these hungry ants ever make it to the picnic? A great book for reinforcing division.

Activity Idea:

I love this book! I actually did a huge project on it in college, where I had to make a “book box” with about 10 activities that went along with it, that covered each core area of school. I put all of my activities in a picnic basket. It was a blast (and I got a really good grade on it!)!

Here is one idea I pulled: I found a bunch of tiny ants. I spray painted half of them red, and left the rest black. These can then be used for

SORTING

PATTERNING

MEASURING

I also provided 100 ants in a film canister, and the kids could look through the book and line the ants up just like the story. They loved it!

Head on over to A Mommy’s Adventures for other stART ideas!

Responses

  1. I love your project! What fun!

  2. I LOVE this! Where did you find the toy ants?

    • Christianne— I’ve had them for awhile, but I think I got them at our local party store.

  3. Very nice! We have this book somewhere, I’ll have to pull it out, and try it with the plastic ants 🙂

  4. Thanx for all the sweet comments! 🙂

  5. I love this book, I totally forgot about it!! Those ants are awesome Emily would have so much fun with them :0)

    Thank you for linking up to stART!!

  6. Nice idea – I saw this book in the library, but it’s a bit early for my 3 year old. I also didn’t care much for the ending.

  7. I love that book. What other activities did you have in the box?

    • Ticia,

      I can’t remember exactly. Gosh! It’s been like 10 years, but each one fit with a core subject area. Mine was catered to 2nd grade.

      I know I supplied 100 ants and the story recorded on a tape (’cause that’s what we used back then!). As the kids listened to the story, the were supposed to line up the ants as the story said. They had a lot of fun with that one!

      I had some insect “flashcards” that they could sort and/or match.

      I supplied a bunch of magazines and old food ads (like the kind you get in the mail with all the sales for the week). They did some sort of activity with that, like cutting out the food and sorting it, then gluing it on paper.

      I had a writing activity of some kind, maybe writing about their favorite picnic experience.

      I had the measurement activity I shared above.

      It would be fun to do an ant craft of some sort, too, although I didn’t have that in the box ’cause I was supposed to do “learning” activities.

      I can’t remember what else… But hopefully that answers your question! Thanx for visiting!


Leave a Reply

Categories

