Posted by: ad65shorty | February 22, 2010

My Body Book

This week, I will share a couple of ideas that will help teach your children about their bodies and their body parts. Most preschoolers know their body parts so today’s activity will be for preschoolers and grade schoolers, rather than the younger crew. I got this idea from my “mentor,” Sue, who is old enough to be my mother, but is one of my dearest friends. Oh, how I love that lady!

When I did this with my students, we would do one part each day so this project took us about 5 days. We made our own books, each page being the body part we were learning about. Today, I will share all the ideas together. I also encourage a trip to the library to look at books with inside body parts and their functions.

My Bones:

We would talk about how our bones give our body its shape. I would have the kids feel their bodies and see if they could feel any of their bones. Have one student come in front and show the kids the spine. Definitely show a picture of what a person’s bones look like. We would then use toothpicks (they could break them) to form the skeleton of a person in our book.

It says, "My bones give my body its shape and help protect me." (glued by 2-year-old)

how it's supposed to look! 🙂

My Skin:

We would talk about how our skin covers our bones and hold us all together. We would look at our skin and compare it to our neighbor’s. We talked about skin coloring, blemishes, freckles, etc. We then traced our hands in our books and put a fingerprint for each finger. Be sure to mention that everybody’s fingerprints are different, too!

It says, "My skin helps hold me together. It is made of tissues and cells. It protects me."

My Heart:

We talked about how our heart pumps blood to our whole body. It is about the size of a fist. We did some easy exercises, like jumping jacks, and felt our hearts pumping. We then used sponges doused in red paint and sponge-painted the heart in our books to look like blood.

It says, "The heart pumps blood to all parts of the body. It is about the size of my fist. The heart is shaped like a pear." (done by 2-year-old)

how it's supposed to look! 🙂

My Lungs:

We would talk about how our lungs help us breathe. We breathe in the good air, called oxygen, and let out the air we don’t need. We breathed deep and felt our tummies go in and out. I then gave each child a balloon. They got to blow air gently into it (not fill it up), and then let the air out. This is similar to our lungs. They fill with air and then let the air out. We then taped our balloon into our book.

It says, "My lungs help my body by breathing in good air called oxygen and letting out the air I do not need."

My brain:

The brain is the boss of the body. It tells everything how to work. We then did problem solving activities, using our brains. After looking at pictures of the brain, we glued noodles into our books to look like wrinkles on the brain.

It says, "My brain is the boss of my body. It sends messages to my body so it will work." (this looks really neat with smaller noodles)

On the front of each book, they drew a picture of their bodies. I don’t have a picture of this…

How fun is this?! I love the fun and learning that is taking place! 🙂

Responses

  1. Great ideas! I love the balloon!

  2. Amy~

    I know. And how easy would this be to then implement in nutrition and taking care of this wonderful, amazing body they have?! There are so many teaching moments here! 🙂

  3. This is awesome! Thanks so much for sharing!


Leave a Reply

Categories

