Posted by: ad65shorty | January 1, 2010

Gummy Bear Sorting and Graphing

This is a hit with the kids! Not only are they learning, but they get to EAT the goods afterwards. We had this as our afternoon snack. They were willing to do the work in order to get the reward.

I got the worksheets years ago while teaching. My daughter colored all over the master copy of mine so I created a new one last night. It would be easy for you to make your own, as well.

1. Have your child color the bears (green, orange, red, yellow, and white). These are the color of the gummy bears.

2. Give your child some gummy bears and have them sort their bears by color on their sorting mat. Be sure to explain beforehand NOT to eat them yet!

This is my 2-year-old!

3. I stopped here with my 2-year-old. I figured sorting and counting was good enough, especially with her very short attention span. For my 5-year-old, I extended the activity a bit. I provided this sheet and had him line his bears up accordingly.

4. Then, they’re supposed to use their crayons to color one bear for each gummy bear. I forgot to take a picture of that one ’cause we were “learning.” I then asked my son questions, such as, “Which one has the most?” “Which one has the least?” (so cute to see him figure out that there was more than one answer for that one) “How many all together?” “How many red and orange do you have?” etc.

5. Finally, they can eat!!!!

So much fun!

Leave a Reply

Categories

