Posted by: ad65shorty | December 17, 2009

Christmas Mini Shape Books

My son loves to write and draw. He especially loves writing in small notebooks, like the ones his grandpa gets at conferences. When I taught school, I always put these “mini books” in my writing area for the kids. They love them!

I love that they are simple to make and can fit with any theme! I also love that they are open-ended for your children. I actually haven’t done these with my son in awhile so I’m making some up for him tonite to see what he thinks!

Instructions:

Cut out a Christmas shape. I had lights from another project so I just used those as a pattern, but I could have done any Christmas shape, like a star or gingerbread man, or even a snowman. Staple 3-4 sheets together. It’s also fun to make a colored cover to put on the front.

Let your children be creative. They can practice their writing, or draw pictures, or write a story (that you can later write down!). This is also a great way to strengthen fine motor skills.

Leave a Reply

Categories

