Posted by: ad65shorty | October 27, 2009

Pumpkin Waffles

I got this recipe from my sister-in-law. We tried it for the first time on Sunday and fell in love!! It is so good! We’re going to turn this into a Halloween breakfast tradition.

Waffles:
2 cups all-purpose flour
2 Tbs brown sugar
1 tbs baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice
1- 1/2 cups fat-free milk
1 cup canned pumpkin
2 egg whites
2 tbs cooking oil

Orange Syrup:
In a small saucepan stir together 1 cup orange juice, 2 tbs honey, 2-1/2 tsp cornstarch, and 1/4 tsp ground cinnamon. Cook and stir until thickened and bubbly. Cook and stir for 2 minutes more. Serve warm. Makes about 1 cup.

Directions:
In a medium bowl stir together flour, brown sugar, baking powder, salt, and pumpkin pie spice. Make a well in the center of the flour mixture.

In another medium bowl combine the milk, pumpkin, egg product, and oil. Add milk mixture all at once to flour mixture. Stir just until moistened (batter should be lumpy).

Pour about 3/4 cup batter onto waffle baker. Bake until golden brown and isn’t sticking to the sides. Serve with orange syrup.

My thoughts:

1. We didn’t make the orange syrup, although I’ve heard it is yummy!! They tasted great with plain ol’ maple syrup!

2. We added chocolate chips to the last couple (as shown in my picture). Also very good, although not nearly as healthy.

3. For Halloween, I think it’d be fun to make a jack o’ lantern face with the chocolate chips, and then cut the waffle into a pumpkin shape!

Responses

  1. We made these for dinner last night–YUMMY! Even my kids, who for some reason say they don’t like waffles anymore, loved them! Thanks for sharing.

  2. I know. Seriously. They are SO GOOD!

    My sister-in-law says the recipe is from a dieter’s cookbook. That makes it even better, in my opinion, to know I’m feeding my children something healthier than normal!

    I’m glad you liked them!


Leave a Reply

Categories

