Posted by: ad65shorty | October 5, 2009

Pinecone Bird Feeder

My favorite season is fall. I love the colors, the smells, the cool weather… You get the idea. I live near the mountains, and they are absolutely gorgeous this time of year! Last week, we took a “field trip” up the canyon, went hiking, and had a picnic lunch. We collected lots of items, and my children are really excited to use our findings this week during school time! We will be spending a lot of time discussing the changing seasons and the signs of fall so I will be sharing a couple of those ideas with you.

Today, we’re going to make a pinecone bird feeder for the birds. Surprisingly, my own children have never done this so I’m really excited for their reactions! I will post my own pictures once I get them done, but in the meantime, enjoy this one from craftingparties.com. I thought it was gorgeous!

Supplies:

pinecone for each child

peanut butter and knife or spatula

birdseed (or oatmeal and sunflower seeds)

string

Procedure:

1. Attach the string to the top of the pinecone. Make sure its sturdy so it’ll hang nicely.

2. Using a knife or spatula, cover your pinecone with peanut butter, pushing into the crevices.

3. Roll your pinecone in the birdseed until it’s covered. If you put it on a plate first, it makes it really easy.

4. Hang in your yard and watch nature come to your doorstep!

 

Check out A Home for Wild Birds for some great info and crafts on birds. I didn’t realize how beneficial this craft really was to their environment!

 

Post-edit:

First off, I completely spaced taking pictures today so the one above will have to do! It’s better than I would have taken anyway!

Secondly, just an FYI, now that I’ve done this with a 2-year-old. My daughter loved putting the peanut butter on; so much, that she decided to eat it after the pinecone was coated in bird seed! So, if you do this with little ones, be sure to watch them closely!

Responses

  1. I did this last year with my kidlet, and the squirrels beat the birds to it, LOL! I wish I coudl find some way to ensure only the birds got at them.

    • Kristen,

      I was told if you hang it on a weaker branch at the very end, the squirrels can’t get it. In our case, we don’t have trees in our yard so we hung ours from our porch. No squirrels!!

      But, squirrels could be good, too. At least your child got to see some nature at work!

      Good luck and let me know if you find something else that works!

  2. I’ve watched the squirrels climb up a smooth circular pole to get to the bird feeder, but I’ve never tried a weak branch. Pinecones don’t weigh too much, so I will have to give it a go, thanks!


Leave a Reply

Categories

