Posted by: ad65shorty | August 25, 2009

Pirate Party part 2

101_2839

You can’t have a pirate party without a pirate cake!!! I came across this idea a couple of weeks ago. It looked simple so I thought I’d try it. Surprisingly, it was very easy to build; it was the frosting that took forever. After making all my cuts, my cake was too moist, even for a crumb layer. It was very frustrating!! I had also wanted to put my son’s name on the front, but you know…

Besides all of that though, it was very, very easy to make, and everyone was very impressed! My son thought it was the greatest thing (and that’s what matters, right?!) Here’s the link: http://www.parents.com/recipe/frosting/pirate-cake/  There is also a how-to video on the site. I watched that, and it helped immensely!!

If you ever try this, leave me a link! I’d love to see how yours turned out!

For full party details, go here.

Responses

  1. Your cake looks awesome! My sons birthday is in two weeks, but I am not very good in the baking or cake decorating departments. Luckily for me my sister-in-law does it for a living so she makes all the b-day cakes for me. I applaud your skills at making your pirate ship – it turned out great!

  2. try freezing the cake and then frosting it.. the crumbs aren’t near as bad. The cake looked awesome!

  3. Thanx, Annette!! I’ll have to try that next time!! And that is a great hint for anyone else who will be trying this! 🙂

  4. Hey…so glad you posted these pirate party ideas. We had already decided to do a pirate party for Weslee’s 3rd this upcoming April when we read a book about treasure hunting at the library that Wes just LOVED. We had begun to think of fun activities…but this just simplified the process and TON.


Leave a Reply

Categories

