Posted by: ad65shorty | August 20, 2009

Letter Sound Song

We all know how much kids love music! So, I tried to incorporate it as much as possible when I taught. I had a song for holding your pencil correctly. A song for cutting with scissors. I had a welcome song. A good-bye song. You get the idea. So, of course I had various songs for the ABCs. I wanted to share one of those today. When I teach letters I teach a song to go with it, focusing on the letter’s sound. For me, it’s one and the same; they are not separate concepts.

I had a mom report back that although I didn’t teach “reading” in my preschool (I didn’t stress word families or phonics or the likes), her child was reading by the time he entered kindergarten because through my teaching, he learned all the letter sounds and how to blend them together to read. Wow!

So, here is a song to teach letter sounds. It goes like this (sung to the tune of Skip to my Lou)

“A a apple /a/

B b ball /b/

C c cake /c/

Now I know my letters.”

Repeat for each set of letters. So, you point to the capital “A,” the lowercase “a,” the picture associated with it, and then say the sound.

Responses

  1. You should post a video of you SINGING the song for us! I would love to see that. 🙂
    Seriously, I agree. The sounds are the important part. My Nate’s Kindergarten teacher told me that and said, “anyone can memorize letters, but these kids need to know what they sound like”. And it totally made sense to me.

  2. haha I’m not sure if you’d want to see me singing! It’s one thing in front of the kids, who love you know matter what. It’s another in front of the whole blogging world!

    Plus, I’m not sure how to do all of that technical stuff anyway. Thanx for the encouragement though! 🙂

  3. Oh, come on Angee – sing for us! 🙂 Could you share your song for holding your pencil correctly? I am working on that with Aidan and think he might like that. Thanks!

  4. Amy–I haven’t forgotten you! I will answer your question when I get some free time. We have my son’s birthday party this weekend, plus family coming into to town so I am super, super busy! I will get back to you! Promise!


Leave a Reply

Categories

