Posted by: ad65shorty | July 30, 2009

Field Trip to Aquarium

As you can see, I am a big advocate of “field trips” for children. I try to take my children some where each week because I feel the learning is invaluable. Plus, it gives us something to look forward to, especially in the winter! Even babies and toddlers can benefit from these excursions: the language exposure is huge; as well as the sights, sounds, textures, etc.

sea_nettles

One of the best ways to teach children about the different types of fish is to visit a local aquarium. Many have hands-on exhibits, where the kids can touch different sea creatures. Some also have educational games, such as Bingo boards or booklets with things to spot, in order to enhance learning. Ask at the front desk!

If there isn’t an aquarium located near-by, you can visit the fish section of the pet store. It’s not nearly as neat, but would still give you lots to talk about. My children’s pediatrician has a salt water aquarium that my kids love to look at whenever we visit there. We have learned a lot just by those quick visits, too, such as how clown fish hide in the anenome and how starfish mate. Who would’ve thought?!

*picture credit from my local aquarium, The Living Planet Aquarium (click on picture for link)

Responses

  1. I was about to ask if you took that photo, cause its great! Then I read your picture credit 🙂
    My kids love the Aquarium!!

  2. haha I can only wish I took pictures that good!!!

    We love our aquarium, too! We haven’t been in awhile (that’s why I have no pictures of us there). It’s on the agenda for fall. I can’t wait!

  3. I am so jealous of your aquarium! We have a small zoo and a science center here is Des Moines, but no aquarium. So we do have to settle for the pet store fish. Not near as cool, but the kids still enjoy it. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

