Posted by: ad65shorty | July 28, 2009

Fish Counting

101_2606

I got this idea from a veteran teacher many years ago. She was my mentor when I taught 1st grade, and then helped me set up my personal preschool. How I love this lady!

The activity is pretty self-explanatory, but here are a couple of hints:

1. The children place the fish in order from 1-10 (except I didn’t have room for #10). I think it would be fun to have your children place the fish in order from smallest to largest, and then let them write the numbers on the fish. If their writing skills are still too immature, you could write the numbers as they tell you which one to write. I would wait to glue the fish on until everything is correct.

2. They then place the correct number of “bubbles” (Cheerios) above each fish. As you can see, a bunch of my son’s fell off as it has sat in storage the last 2 years. 🙂

3. This is an excellent activity to work on fine motor skills (if you click on the link, scroll to the bottom of the activity).

Leave a Reply

Categories

