Posted by: ad65shorty | May 8, 2009

Post Office

This idea is completely credited to my son. He is really getting into writing, which I love!! Oh! How I love the kid spelling and writing! I always have. But it means even more coming from my own child. Our walls are covered with signs he has written; I have piles of notes from him. I just can’t get enough!

Well, he has always loved playing Post Office (or “Mail,” as he calls it) with his grandma. It’s something they do every time they’re together. It’s really sweet to watch. So, he decided one day to put a twist on it at our house. He got a box for each of us and put them outside our bedroom doors. Then, he had us sit down at the table and write letters to each other to put into the mailboxes. He even told me I had to fold it and write his name and mine on the outside (“That way I know who it’s to and who it’s from, Mom”). He then took some time “delivering” our mail to the mailboxes. He’s really cute in that he’ll make the sound of a doorbell when the mail has been delivered. I’m then supposed to go check my mail. It’s actually a lot of fun, and I can’t help but find joy in all the educational skills he’s learning!

So, how fun would this be as a family tradition? Make or get a mailbox for each member of your family and leave special notes inside of them throughout the week. Nothing brightens a day more than knowing someone cares about you!

Responses

  1. Awe… he is so cute. I love this idea! Would be great for spouses too!

  2. That is a really cute idea! Thanks for sharing.

  3. Maddie plays a similar game but puts toys and books in the box. I should definitely add in the writing aspect of mail. She would love it. Thanks for the idea.


Leave a Reply

Categories

