Posted by: ad65shorty | April 27, 2009

Mother’s Day Idea: Potted Plant

This week, I will be sharing a bunch of different ideas your children could make for Mother’s Day. They are simple and don’t take a lot of time, but come from the heart–the kind moms love!

Have your children decorate a terra cotta pot! I love this because it’s cheap and something moms can use over and over. (For a big group of children, buy smaller pots. You can get them cheap at any craft store. Sometimes managers will give you a discounted price if it’s for a big group, such as school. It never hurts to ask!)

Use craft paint and let your children go at it! Even the “scribbles” look great! You could also have them use thumbprints and design bugs and flowers, or handprints around the sides look fabulous, too. I like to use Q-tips instead of paintbrushes for painting. They are less messy, and you don’t have to worry about water or much clean-up. For older children, have them draw with a pencil first and then paint.

When the paint is dry, use a sealer to seal the paint. I like the spray kind; it goes on quick and easy.

When it’s all sealed, help your child put some dirt and flowers in the pot. Be sure to put the date on the bottom with a sweet message! Tie a big bow around the pot, and it’s ready for Mother’s Day!

Responses

  1. Cute cute idea… I am going out to buy pots! Love the simple yet fun ideas.

    One question though… have you noticed the explicit title under “Possibly related posts”??

    • No, I hadn’t noticed (I don’t see those unless I click on the comments themselves). Thank you for pointing it out. I’m contacting costumer service right now, although I’m not sure there’s much that can be done! Sorry ’bout that!! 🙂

      On the other hand, glad you found a cute idea you could use! We made ours for our grandmas this year. I am so excited for them to see them!

  2. So, I did all I could and can’t remove the link. To everyone, I am so sorry about that!


Leave a Reply

Categories

