Posted by: ad65shorty | December 6, 2011

Frosty the Snowman Footprint Craft

Ack! I am so excited to share this project with you! I had a vision, and although I had to do a couple of adaptations, it came out just like I had seen it in my mind, and I couldn’t be more thrilled!

I love reading books with my kids, and then doing a fun extension activity with it. I thought this craft would be fun to make as a Christmas gift for Grandma or to hang in my home for the winter season.

Book Cover

By Steve Nelson and Jack Rollins

Summary: I love this version of Frosty!  This book’s pictures take you back to the 1950s, when the original song was written. The pictures are big, colorful, and simple. The storyline is simply the words of the song, which are easy for kids to recite. Definitely a must-have in any home library! (and, as an added bonus, the piano music is written in both the front and back covers)

Snowmen at Christmas

By Caralyn Beuhner

Summary: Have you ever wondered what happens to snowmen when the night comes? How do they celebrate Christmas? The pictures make this story almost magical. Definitely a must-read.

Extension Art Activity:

Materials:

  • Art canvas (I used an 11 x 14)
  • Light blue paint (I used acrylic)
  • White paint (again, I used acrylic)
  • White fairy dust glitter
  • Paint brush
  • Sponge brush
  • Paint pallet (I like paper plates. Easy clean-up!)
  • Markers
  • Paint shirt to cover child

Instructions:

1. Cover your work area. Also cover yourself and your children, as this paint does stain! (Personally, I like Dad’s old t-shirts because they cover from head-to-toe.)

2. Have your child paint the canvas light blue with sponge brush.  Be sure to get the sides!  Let dry (my paint took about 15 minutes to dry). Add a 2nd coat, if desired.

3. Have your child paint white paint at the bottom of the canvas to look like snow on the ground. Okay, so this is where my vision came in. I wanted the “snow” to sparkle like real snow and to really pop! I looked all-over trying to find paint with glitter, but couldn’t find any to my liking. I wanted SPARKLE and GLIMMER and SHINE!! But I had this vision, and I wasn’t going to settle for anything less! So, here’s my solution: I found some white fairy dust glitter and had my kids just sprinkle it on top while the paint is still wet. Wahlah! SPARKLE!! It looks like shimmery snow to me! I am so excited! Shake off excess and let dry. (Obviously, you could do this project without the glitter and just use white paint. Still cute! But I like the bling!)

BLING!

4. Pour white paint onto paint pallet (I like to use a large paper plate because I can just throw it away afterwards. It also fits my children’s feet pretty well). Place your child’s foot on the paint. Use a paint brush to get all the spaces and to get the paint evenly distributed. Expect giggles! Gently press your child’s foot onto the canvas (I find that if I turn the canvas so that the “snow ground” is at the top, my children can simply place their feet on with no twisting and turning of their bodies). Sprinkle with more fairy dust while the paint is wet.  Shake off excess and let dry. Tip: I like to do this portion in the bathroom. I place the canvas on the floor so that they can simply step to make their print. After they have done their footprint, they can put their feet in the bathtub and wash off. Easy clean-up, too!

Can you see how the canvas is "turned" so she can put her foot on comfortably?

5. When dry, let your child decorate the snowman with markers.

6. Be sure to write the date and age of your child on the back.

7. Wrap up pretty to give to Grandma for Christmas! Personally, we have ours hung on the wall to display through the winter. An easel would also be cute! And I’m thinking a child’s apron could be fun–perfect for all the Christmas baking. Or an apron for mom or grandma. We have also made these snowmen on long construction paper (laminated) to use as placemats. And of course, I love using it as a portion of a handprint/footprint calendar.

(This project was featured on the Daily Dish.)

(And go here to see some from my readers!)

Responses

  1. You were amazing on TV! Even Randy watched. And we love this snowman craft. We are going to save it for next year because unfortunately we already have gifts for Grandma and Grandpa. I might make it anyway just for me.

    • You totally should! The glitter is amazing; I wish it would have really shown up on TV. We have ours displayed in our house, and it’s so cute! We’ll probably give one to each Grandma, too, considering I now have 3 partially made! :)

      I really want to make my kids and I aprons, as well! How fun would that be for the winter?!

      And thanx for watching and for the compliment! I had a lot of fun! And thanx for the prayers in my behalf (’cause I totally know you did).

  2. So I was telling my friend about this and she told me another fun craft to do. Take a blue ball ornament or clear and paint it blue. Then have your child get the white paint on their hand and put the bottom of the ornament in the palm of their hand with the fingers going up the sides. Voila! 5 snowmen on snow. Then you can draw on the hats and scarves and such but I thought this was another great one to go with the snowmen stories. Can’t wait to make our canvas. Oh and you mentioned aprons–I’m going to use green paint and my kid’s hands largest to smallest making a Christmas tree. I’ll have to send you pictures when I get everything done!

    • Love it!! Yes, please send pictures. Great ideas!

      And you’ll get a kick out of this: I was totally thinking about sharing that snowman ornament craft actually! Honest. Too funny!!

  3. […] since I made these footprint snowmen for Christmas, I’ve been dying to make a footprint canvas of ghosts for my wall for […]

  4. […] ideas! When I was looking for craft ideas, my son stopped me and said “Let’s make the snowmen!” You could also make a Santa, reindeer, a wreath, “mistletoes,” or perhaps even […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 464 other followers

