Posted by: ad65shorty | July 6, 2011

Blast From the Past: Ice Cream Shop Dramatic Play

"JJ's Ice Cream Shop" (3-year-old writing)

When my son was younger, he enjoyed playing “ice cream shop.” He came up with it all on his own, and we spent many hours playing. As his imagination grew, so did the ice cream shop! It was lots of fun!

Here are a couple of ideas to get you started:

1.  Provide a box or bin of some sort that your children can sit behind to sell their ice cream. I always try to implement writing into our play, if I can (I guess it’s the teacher in me), so I usually have my son make a sign for it. At first, it was mostly me, but now, it’s a necessity for him! You could also decorate your box with crayons or drape it with a cloth.

2.  Another writing idea is to provide a pad of paper (or even a bunch stapled together) that your child could use to “take your order.” We have never done this, but I may suggest it the next time we play! My kid woud LOVE it!

3.  Provide your ice cream “props.” If you think ahead, you can save cleaned-out ice cream cartons and empty cone boxes. You could also provide pretend ice cream cones if you have any. We actually just use big building blocks for ours (remember this has all been thought up by a 3- now 4-year-old).

4.  Provide other items such as bowls and spoons for eating out of, a cash register and money, a cap and apron. Maybe even a table and chair for eating on after you get your ice cream.

5.  Have fun! Seriously, get down on your knees and enter your child’s world. Let your children lead the play. I think, we as adults, try to lead too often; it’s important for their development, as well as their self-esteem. I’d love to hear how this goes, if you try it!

Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 438 other followers

