Posted by: ad65shorty | June 8, 2010

Grocery Shopping Bingo

I’m not sure why, but in the last couple of months, grocery shopping is terrible for us. My kids either fight, or chase each other, or whine, or… You get the idea. I’ve tried all kinds of different strategies, all with the same results:  Me–dreading grocery shopping, racing through, and forgetting things; My kids–uphappy and quite often in tears. I finally decided to put into place something I’ve been wanting to do for awhile: Grocery Shopping Bingo. I could not find any of these on-line so I made up my own. I used clipart of the things we buy most frequently and put them into squares. I then print off 2 copies, clip them onto clipboards, and off we go. The kids keep their eyes out for these items and cross them off as we find them and put them into our cart. When their boards are filled up, we are done (I always save bananas for last!). This has been very successful the last 10 times or so times we’ve gone. I now don’t dread shopping with my children, they are actively involved, and everyone is happy! My plan for the future is to switch it up when they get bored (put different pictures on), or to even make different boards and see who can fill theirs up first. Here is a sample of my board:

What do you do to keep your children happy while grocery shopping?

Responses

  1. What a great idea!!! Shopping is tough right now because Ella is getting pretty vocal and opinionated… and Maddie is usually good helping me push but you never know. I usually let them eat one of those fruit roll-ups in the produce section and that keeps them happy for awhile. :)

  2. i like this. my 3yr old would like this. I have my older son doing a scavenger hunt, but sometimes my daughter gets restless. This is wonderful!

    http://mykidsmake.com/2011/03/create/grocery-shopping-reading-and-scavenger-hunt/


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 438 other followers

