Posted by: ad65shorty | March 19, 2010

5 Senses Box

5 Senses Box with feely bags outside

To culminate the week, make a 5 senses box. I like to put this in my science center for the whole week and let the kids experiment on their own time. This is the favorite for the week! There’s something about experimenting on their own that kids just love!

*I just used a good, sturdy box I had lying around. You could make it cute by decorating the outside. Mine has a separate lid, which I really liked for storage purposes.

*For sight: I put in telescopes and magnifying glasses (with some fun books).

*For hearing: I put in shakers, bells, and tuning forks (random, I know, but we had some).

*For touch: I put in the feely bags and the texture book.

*For smell: I put in the canisters of scent.

*For taste: I put in either some new items my children haven’t ever tasted or some that fit into the four categories of bitter, sweet, sour, and salty.

Inside the box. Notice the telescopes in the top right corner. The "car" is a magnifying glass.

Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 469 other followers

